This Friday, September 20th, I will perform a brand new piece titled Transplanting  during the inaugural event “Art Synthesis: Live Performance Art on Film Row”. My friends and colleagues Molly O’Connor, Kendall Brown, and Cayla Lewis have been working tremendously hard developing a performance art scene in Oklahoma City. This event is the first fruit of their labor. I am excited to perform alongside fellow peers from the University of Oklahoma School of Art & Art History, Alex Knox and Molly Youngblood.

Transplanting is an exploration of bodily boundaries. I chose leaves to work with as a delicate skin-like material. Rerooting, resettling, molding, transference, and the notion of grafting influence my movements as I move the leaves in relation to my body, creating imprints, outlines, traces, and extensions of my body.
artsynthesis

